My Christmas 2019 Vs Christmas 2020 | By Deborah

Last year (2019), during this time of the year I was so busy planning & doing a pink-themed Christmas decor. I also got golden spray paints and made some decors, set up a Christmas tree, hanged the bells, gifts, SANTA, stars, lights, lanterns…
Oh, I also was greatly engaged in the Christmas program choreography at church, the dances and skits… despite having my exams going on!
The terrible matter I was told back then was that *God would bless me if * I toiled for all the above-mentioned “things” I did, as these “things” meant serving God. No, I didn’t do all that I mentioned because I wanted blessings but I liked doing them. But after what I was informed,( that is, the blessing part) I subconsciously started working additionally!

Somehow, December 2019 passed by, eventually, I never realised anything unless I heard the Gospel of Jesus Christ. It is horrendously astonishing to know that I’ve been in a church since my birth, and haven’t known until the age of 21, WHY Jesus died!
I find this extremely gruesome (in my personal opinion) if a child in the church doesn’t know what Jesus did for him/her on the Cross.

Now, 2020 December…
To everyone, 2020 has been a pathetic year. But Christmas time fascinates people, definitely not because of JESUS (in most cases, including churches). In contrast with 2019, I realised that while I decorated the pagan Christmas tree I could have studied why Jesus died for me (why HE had to come), while I planned a pink-themed decoration,  I could have spent time knowing what Jesus did for me.  I could have remembered my Saviour’s sacrifice and thanked Him for that rather than spending time in vain!
Rather than sending cakes to my friends, I could have shared with them the Gospel!
Rather than giving importance to a lifeless Santa, I could have spent time with the REAL LIVING GOD who became a MAN just for me!
Rather than performing on the stage for people to see and applaud on Christmas, it’s important to spread the good news of Jesus Christ, of what mighty thing GOD did when He said, “It is finished”.

Coming to the disastrous part I saw/ see around me…, mixing world with the WORD during Christmas programs (for instance, baseless jokes in skits, meaningless songs with heavy rock music lol, etc), friends posting Santa Claus, jingle bells, Christmas tree, wine…on their stories! Is Christmas just about having fun without reason?

How can I forget this, decorating Mother Mary and Jesus, performing pooja by hanging a garland(I mean, where is this written in the Bible man?! Who teaches you all this)!!
I don’t know about others but to me, everything about Christmas has drastically changed!
Remember the “blessings” part, that I mentioned earlier… God did not bless me for anything I did. All my so-called good works are filthy rags. (Isaiah 64:6). And of HIS fullness have all we received, grace after grace. (John 1:16).

So, finally, Dear children in/out/around the church, don’t be deceived.

bydeborah.home.blog/

Disclaimer: I’m not completely against Christmas decorations, but in my view, the intent and some research are required. I personally like some stars and lights.✨:)

Published by Deborah Mahima

The story isn't over yet..

6 thoughts on “My Christmas 2019 Vs Christmas 2020 | By Deborah

  1. This is how the real Christmas should be, remembering what Jesus Christ did for us ♥️, thanking him and preaching the good news .. As you said, we need to look at Christmas in a new way😇.
    Jesus is the reason for the season.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started